How to Block a Coworker

Any team member can choose to block the incoming messages of any other team member, for any reason, and for any length of time. This feature is available to Crew Pro subscribers.

The blocked coworker, whether or not they’re an admin, (let’s call that person Chris) will not see any indication that they’ve been blocked, either in one-on-one messages or group messages. The person who has set the block (let’s say, Terry) will still receive any messages from groups of which Chris is also a member.

There are several ways to set a message block.

From Message Details

  1. From an existing message thread, tap on the Reaction menu
  2. Tap the three horizontal dots at the bottom left of the Reaction screen (iOS) / top right of the Reaction screen (Android)
  3. Select “Block”
  4. “Confirm” the block

Terry, the blocker, won’t receive any Notifications of one-on-one messages from Chris, the blocked person, and any messages Chris sends will go directly to Chats Archive. Terry will also see a note under Chris’s name in the Coworkers tab as a reminder that Chris is blocked, and it can also be seen on Chris’s Profile screen.

You can choose to block the messages from a specific team member
You’ll need to confirm the block

 

From the Coworkers Tab

  1. From the Coworkers tab, tap the three horizontal dots across from the team member’s name
  2. Select “Block”
  3. “Confirm” the block

From a Coworker’s Profile Screen

  1. Tap on the team member’s Profile photo on the Coworkers tab
  2. Tap the “Block [name]” bar at the bottom of the screen
  3. “Confirm” the block

How to Unblock a Coworker

If/when Terry decides to lift the block, any of the three paths described above for blocking—Message Details, Coworkers tab or Profile screen— can be used. Terry could also tap on any blocked and archived messages from Chris and choose the “Unblock” option at that step.

You can unblock a coworker from their Profile screen, as well as in a message or from the Coworkers tab

If Terry needs to send a direct message to Chris, the block must be cancelled (even if temporarily). The option to “Unblock” will automatically appear if a message is initiated, and will need to be confirmed.

If you want to send a direct message to someone you’ve blocked, you’ll need to unblock them

Was this article helpful?

Get the latest tips for your team.

Need Help?

Email help@crewapp.com

Send a message to Crew Support within the Crew app